Compost and Vectorworks


I have caught up on my marking for Garden Design Academy students and the weather is spring-like, so this morning after walking the dog in the woods I have been out in the garden. I’m not getting any younger so serious physical exercise is taken in little bites these days. The far end of the garden is an unattractive view for our B&B guests and my task for today was to begin the construction of a compost bin from the Sequoia and Beech logs I stacked last year. These are no longer needed for firewood since we discovered that the central heating boiler had been installed in such a way that the living room chimney is effectively blocked by the stainless steel boiler flue.

No matter: I am making composting bays against the back fence and once completed old carpets, which at the moment grace the site of the proposed log cabin, will be dragged over to line the floor and walls and prevent weeds pushing into the newly created compost. I hope you are following all this: I’ll be asking questions later. A compost bin made of staked logs will, in my humble opinion, be heaven on earth for bugs, beetles and other fauna, thus achieving a number of useful aims in one grand operation. As I say, I’m not getting any younger and half an hour or so heaving logs was enough for one day. The next task, the dog’s afternoon run, is to get back to my review of Tasmin Slatter’s manual on Vectorworks Landmark for garden designers.

It has taken me a year to extract a review copy from anyone but finally Nemetschek in the States have given me a copy of the 2nd edition to play with. I didn’t get the CD which would normally come with it and this edition is based around Vectorworks 2010 while I have the 2008 version on my own PC, but I’m glad I persevered. I cannot in all honesty call it an easy read and my first attempt to read it like a novel ended in frustration at page 25. I have since started again and am using it as intended, following the instructions with my copy of Vectorworks and gradually working my way through the files and tools. A full review will follow, with luck before they publish the 3rd edition.

We are pleased to have received the first press release on the Courson spring garden show  – les journees des plantes. This year it will be held on 14th, 15th and 16th May and for me the show is as unmissable as Chelsea was when I lived in the UK. Much more on this in further Blog postings. I regret to say that this year we were not able to visit the commersial horticultural show at Angers, le Salon du Vegetal. That was a pity, but we were busy earning a living at the time and salary earning oportunities dont happen too often these days.

We are also delighted to announce that this is the second month in a row that my former landlord, Wyevale Garden Centres, has not threatened to sue us in case we owe them rent. Over the past 18 months we have been harassed by really rather impressively qualified debt collection companies who are sure we owe Wyevale money but not sure why or how much. This was a feature of our time with Wyevale, who had an accounting system described to us by one of their staff as “not fit for purpose”. No doubt this little reminder, foolish in many ways, will have them threatening us all over again but after a while it becomes hard to care what they do. As on so many occasions in the past, we have pointed out their errors and they have disappeared for a while with no thanks and no apology. No doubt they will change debt collection companies in a year or two and we will have to go through this all over again. Gardening has its moments, I can tell you!

Leave a Reply

